Skip to McMaster Navigation Skip to Site Navigation Skip to main content
McMaster logo

Membership of the Senate

The Senate consists of the following members for July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024:

Ex Officio

Ex Officio Members of the Senate
Santee SmithChancellor
David FarrarPresident & Vice-Chancellor (Chair)
Susan TigheProvost and Vice President, Academic (Vice-Chair)
Saher FazilatVice-President (Operations and Finance)
Paul O’ByrneDean and Vice-President (Health Sciences)
Andy Knights (Acting)Vice-President (Research)
Lili LitwinVice-President (University Advancement)
Khaled HassaneinDean, Faculty of Business
Heather SheardownDean, Faculty of Engineering
Pamela SwettDean, Faculty of Humanities
Maureen MacDonaldDean, Faculty of Science
Jeremiah HurleyDean, Faculty of Social Sciences
Steve HranilovicVice-Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies
Stanley PorterPrincipal, Divinity College
Kim DejUndergraduate Council Chair
Lorraine CarterDirector, McMaster University Continuing Education (MCE)

Teaching Staff

Teaching Staff Members of the Senate
John MedcofFaculty of Business2024
Narat CharupatFaculty of Business2025
Manish KackerFaculty of Business2026
Carlos FilipeFaculty of Engineering2026
Mehdi NarimaniFaculty of Engineering2025
Wael El-DakhakhniFaculty of Engineering2024
Rick MontureFaculty of Humanities2024
Joëlle PapillonFaculty of Humanities2025
Stephanie SpringgayFaculty of Humanities2024
Claudia EmersonFaculty of Humanities2025
Faiza HirjiFaculty of Humanities2026
Eugenia ZuroskiFaculty of Humanities2026
Pau PujolasFaculty of Social Sciences2024
Chris SindingFaculty of Social Sciences2024
Nathan AndrewsFaculty of Social Sciences2025
Saara GreeneFaculty of Social Sciences2026
Renae WatchmanFaculty of Social Sciences2025
James BennFaculty of Social Sciences2025
Paul FaureFaculty of Science2024
Kalai SaravanamuttuFaculty of Science2024
Suleiman IgdouraFaculty of Science2025
Paul AndrewsFaculty of Science2025
Blaise BourdinFaculty of Science2026
Graeme LukeFaculty of Science2026
Michael McGillionFaculty of Health Sciences2024
Mark WaltonFaculty of Health Sciences2024
Dina BrooksFaculty of Health Sciences2025
Alfonso IorioFaculty of Health Sciences2025
Stacey RitzFaculty of Health Sciences2026
Jeff WeitzFaculty of Health Sciences2026
Mark BodaMcMaster Divinity College

Alumni Representatives

Alumni Representatives of the Senate
Brenda O’Connor2025
Dennis Souder2024
Keegan Johnson2024
Margaret Zanel2026

Board Representatives

Board Representatives of the Senate
Brenda Vrkljan2025
Skylar Wang2024
Sarrah Lal2024

Student Representatives

Student Representatives of the Senate
Siying LuFaculty of BusinessUndergraduate2025
Mark FahmyFaculty of EngineeringUndergraduate2024
Kerry YangFaculty of Health SciencesUndergraduate2025
Hfsa AwanFaculty of HumanitiesUndergraduate2025
Ahmed AbdallaFaculty of ScienceUndergraduate2024
Zimo WangFaculty of Social SciencesUndergraduate2025
Si LiuFaculty of BusinessGraduate2024
Sina BiazarFaculty of EngineeringGraduate2025
Sanamdeep MatharuFaculty of Health SciencesGraduate2025
Heva OlfmanFaculty of HumanitiesGraduate2024
Maxwell AltmanFaculty of ScienceGraduate2025
Kusum BhattaFaculty of Social SciencesGraduate2024

Secretary of Senate

Secretary of the Senate
Andrea Thyret-KiddSecretary of Senate

Senate Observers 2023-2024

Senate observers 2023-2024
Dawn Martin-HillAcademic Co-Chair, Indigenous Education Council
Andrea FarquharAssistant Vice-President, Communications & Public Affairs
Aaron SchatAssociate Dean of Business (Academic)
Sarah Dickson-AndersonAssociate Dean of Engineering (Academic)
Sean CornerAssociate Dean of Humanities (Academic)
Rosa da SilvaAssociate Dean of Science (Academic)
Karen McGarryAssociate Dean of Social Sciences (Academic)
Barrington WalkerVice-Provost (Equity and Inclusion)
Gianni Parise (Acting)Associate Vice-President (Research)
Sean Van KoughnettAssociate Vice-President (Students and Learning) and Dean of Students
Melissa PoolAssociate Vice-President, Finance and Planning (Academic)
Elizabeth MarquisDirector of the Arts and Science Program
TBDExecutive Vice-Dean and Associate Vice-President (Academic), Faculty of Health Sciences
Barbara EftekhariManager of Faculty Appointments and Records, Provost Office
Carolyn BrendonOmbudsperson
Jack MahOne student registered in the Arts and Science Program
Letizia DondiPresident or Designate, Graduate Students Association
Karen RichmondPresident or Designate, McMaster Association of Part-Time Students
Jovan PopovicPresident or Designate, McMaster Students Union
Catherine AndersonPresident or Designate, McMaster University Faculty Association
Rob WaltersChief of Staff and Senior Advisor to the President
Vivian LewisUniversity Librarian
Sarah Robinson (Acting)University Registrar
Sandra CarrollVice-Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences, Executive Director, School of Nursing
Dina Brooks (member of Senate)Vice-Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences, Executive Director, School of Rehabilitation Science
Rob WhyteVice Dean, Education, Faculty of Health Sciences
Bonny IbhawohVice-Provost (International Affairs)
Matheus GrasselliDeputy Provost