SENATE OF MCMASTER UNIVERSITY – SUMMER 2017 BULLETIN

Below is a high-level review of the activities of the Senate of McMaster University during the 2016-17 session. Additional details about activities of the Senate can be found at the <u>Meeting Materials</u> section of the University Secretariat website, or by contacting the Secretariat at univsec@mcmaster.ca.

Senate approved, and recommended to the Board, the following:

Formal adoption of the Okanagan Charter

Termination of the Faculty of Theology, effective December 31, 2016

Changes in title, effective July 1, 2017, as follows:

'Associate Vice-President (Faculty)' becomes 'Vice-Provost (Faculty)' – *currently Dr. Susan Searls Giroux*;

'Associate Vice-President (Teaching and Learning)' becomes 'Vice- Provost (Teaching and Learning)' – *currently Dr. Arshad Amad*;

'Associate Vice-President and Dean of Graduate Studies' becomes 'Vice-Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies' – *currently Dr. Doug Welch*;

'Associate Vice-President (International Affairs)' becomes 'Vice-Provost (International Affairs)' – *currently Dr. Peter Mascher*.

Establishment of the Position Vice-Provost (Equity and Inclusion)

Establishment of the Position Associate Dean (Faculty Affairs), Faculty of Health Sciences

Appointments, as follows:

Dr. David Wilkinson – extended as Provost and Vice-President (Academic) for the period July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018, or until a new Provost and Vice-President (Academic) takes over the position, whichever comes first;

- **Dr. Doug Welch** as Vice-Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies to June 30, 2022;
- **Dr. Maureen MacDonald** as Dean of the Faculty of Science to June 30, 2022;
- **Dr. Leonard Waverman** re-appointed as Dean of the Faculty of Business to June 30, 2020;
- **Dr. Michael Farquharson** re-appointed as Associate Dean (Academic), Faculty of Science;
- **Dr. Sue McCracken** as Associate Dean (Academic), Faculty of Business, for a five-year term;

- **Dr. Anna Danielova** as Associate Dean (Faculty Affairs and Accreditation), Faculty of Business;
- **Dr. Mark Walton** as Associate Dean (Faculty Affairs), Faculty of Health Sciences;
- **Dr. Khaled Hassanein** as Associate Dean (Graduate Studies and Research), Faculty of Business:
- **Dr. Pamela Swett** as Associate Dean, Graduate Studies and Research (Humanities);
- **Dr. Sean Corner** as Acting Associate Dean, Graduate Studies and Research (Humanities);
- **Dr. James Gillett** as Associate Dean (Graduate Studies and Research), Faculty of Social Sciences:
- **Dr. Gianni Parise** re-appointed as Associate Dean (Research and External Relations), Faculty of Science;
- **Dr. Jonathan Bramson** Associate Dean (Research), Faculty of Health Science;
- **Dr. Ken Cruikshank** as the Council of Ontario Universities Academic Colleague for a two-year term, effective July 1, 2017, and **Dr. Maureen MacDonald** as the Council of Ontario Universities Alternate Academic Colleague for a two-year term, effective July 1, 2017;
- **Ms Christi Garneau** as University Secretary, effective July 24, 2017.

Senate awarded the title Distinguished University Professor to the following individuals:

- Dr. Barry Allen, Philosophy;
- **Dr. Michael Brook**, Chemistry and Chemical Biology;
- **Dr. Bruce Gaulin**, Physics and Astronomy;
- Dr. John Kelton, Medicine;
- **Dr. Laurel Trainor**, Psychology, Neuroscience and Behaviour.

Senate awarded the title University Scholar to the following individuals for a 4-year term:

- **Dr. Chandrima Chakraborty,** English and Cultural Studies;
- Dr. Wael El-Dakhakhni, Civil Engineering;
- **Dr. Paul McNicholas, Mathematics and Statistics**;
- Dr. Peter Nyers, Political Science; and
- Dr. Sheila Singh, Surgery.

 \bigcirc

 \circ

Senate revised or established the following policies, all of which are available on the University Policies, Procedures and Guidelines website.

Academic Accommodation of Students with Disabilities

Academic Program Development and Review

Aid and Awards

Awarding of the Title "Professor Emeritus / Emerita"

Care and Use of Animals in Research and Teaching

Code of Student Rights and Responsibilities

Diplomas and Certificates

Discrimination, Harassment and Sexual Harassment: Prevention and Response

<u>Hearing Procedures for the Board-Senate Hearing Panel for Discrimination, Harassment,</u> and Sexual Violence

Research Integrity Policy

Residence Agreement / Contract, 2017-18

Sexual Violence

Student Groups (Recognition, Risk Assessment and Event Planning)

Tenure and Promotion Policy

Section II, Clause 4, - Correction of a clerical error

Section II, Clause 4b - Revision to requirements for an initial appointment with tenure

Sections III, V, and VI - Revision to method of contacting faculty members

SPS B11, -- Curriculum Vitae Requirements – addition of Research Creation category

SPS C1 and SPS C2 -- Research Leaves – establishment of appeal process and clarification of eligibility for first leave

SPS C4 – **Pregnancy and Parental Leave** – Changes to financial arrangements

Appendix A,

SPS A4, and New SPS, A12 - revisions that address the requirement that clinical faculty must hold a valid licence to practise medicine in Ontario, as well as maintain malpractice insurance and (normally) patient care privileges at an affiliated hospital

The following research facilities were established:

Centre for Mobility in Aging;

McMaster Digital Transformation Research Centre;

McMaster University Centre for Buddhist Studies;

Michael G. DeGroote Centre for Medicinal Cannabis Research;

Computing Infrastructure Research Centre.

Revision to terms of reference and/or name change of research facilities:

McMaster Institute for Research on Aging;

Termination of the McMaster Brain-Body Institute.

The terms of reference for the following Endowed Chairs were established or revised:

New

Jack Hirsh / Population Health Research Institute Chair in Thrombosis and Atherosclerosis Research;

Population Health Research Institute Chair in Cardiology Research.

Revised Terms of Reference and/or Name Change

Farncombe Family Chair in Inflammatory Bowel Disease <u>revised to</u> Farncombe Family Chair in Phage Biology;

Ontario Research Chair in Educational Achievement and At-Risk Students <u>revised to</u> Ontario Research Chair in Educational Achievement and At-Risk Youth;

Boris Family Chair in Human (Neural) Stem Cells <u>revised to</u> Boris Family Chair in Drug Discovery;

Mackenzie Financial Corporation Chair in Evidence-Based Financial Planning <u>revised to</u> Mackenzie Investments Chair in Evidence-Based Investment Management;

Stephen A. Jarislowsky Chair in Environment and Health.

Senate approved the following Program changes:

New:

Master of Science in Financial Mathematics;

M.Eng. in Computing and Software – merger of four existing M.Eng. degrees;

Combined Honours Bachelor of Arts and Science and Indigenous Studies Program;

Applied Clinical Research Certificate;

Canadian Health Care Certificate;

Certificate in Big Data Analytics;

Certificate in Business Technology Management;

Certificate in Essential French;

Certificate in International Engagement;

Certificate in Marketing;

Diploma in Business of Golf and Resort Management.

Closed:

Honours Bachelor of Science in Medical Physics Program;

Honours Bachelor of Engineering in Software Engineering - Embedded Systems Program;

Honours Bachelor of Engineering in Electrical and Biomedical Engineering Program;

Collaborative MA in Public Policy and Administration;

Technology Diploma and the Technology Leadership Diploma.